Blog Azeroth

A forum for World of Warcraft Bloggers
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:41 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question: Way to expand posting canvas?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:39 am
Posts: 315
Location: Ner'Zhul, BC, Canada
It's a little narrow for me when I'm blogging. Is there a plugin of some sort that's in existence that might expand the create post window heightwise?

_________________
Matticus
"Power Through Knowledge and Reason"
http://www.worldofmatticus.com/
WoW Priest and Officer Blogger

Find me on GMail: matttz@gmail.com

Image


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 24
In my "Write Post" window, I can just drag that window bigger with a resizer thing in the lower right hand corner of it. I just put my mouse on it and drag.

I'm on Wordpress.com, so your results may vary.

Edit: This works on my non-Wordpress.com hosted blog as well.

_________________
http://dwarfpriest.com
A Dwarf Priest - I melt kneecaps!


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:13 am
Posts: 35
Location: Orange County, CA
Server: Hyjal
Somebodywrote a plugin that themes the wp-admin pages. This particular plugin is named Tiger and is created by a Mac user, so I imagine it's somewhat similar to one of the cat-named Mac OS'.

In his Tiger admin theme, his post windows are still the same default size. However, he said that the xhtml markup was (mostly?) untouched and everything was just modified using CSS2 (so if you don't use Safari or Firefox you're kinda SOL anyways if you want to use it).

If you dig through his code you might be able to find the right reference to the textboxes and then modify their default sizes.

_________________
Tangentially Useful: [relegated to a wordpress design sandbox]
Knights That Say Ni: RIP


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:13 am
Posts: 35
Location: Orange County, CA
Server: Hyjal
Just goes to show how important it is to check timestamps when google searching.

The Tiger admin redesign is a 3 year old project. There is currently something in development called Shuttle over at Broken Kode.

You still might be able to get what you want out of the Tiger admin php files though. GL!

_________________
Tangentially Useful: [relegated to a wordpress design sandbox]
Knights That Say Ni: RIP


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:32 am
Posts: 85
I'm probably wrong since this is too simple but...


Image

_________________
¨
http://yawown.blogspot.com/
¨


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:39 am
Posts: 315
Location: Ner'Zhul, BC, Canada
Image

*sadface*

Latest WP and all, even.

EDIT: Wait a minute. Do you guys use the built in HTML WYSIWYG editor? Would that affect it? I'm using text only editor so I have to hand code my posts because it would break a few of the plugins that I use.

_________________
Matticus
"Power Through Knowledge and Reason"
http://www.worldofmatticus.com/
WoW Priest and Officer Blogger

Find me on GMail: matttz@gmail.com

Image


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:13 am
Posts: 35
Location: Orange County, CA
Server: Hyjal
Just checked. It *is* the WYSIWYG editor that allows expansion.

_________________
Tangentially Useful: [relegated to a wordpress design sandbox]
Knights That Say Ni: RIP


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:07 pm
Posts: 361
Server: Scarlet Crusade (US)
This was a really annoying problem for me too. Luckily, I stumbled across the solution not too long ago. When logged into your Dashboard, go to Options > Writing. Adjust the integer value in the first textbox "Size of the post box." I'm using 40 lines. Hope this helps!

_________________
Image
Healing with a positive carbon footprint.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:13 am
Posts: 35
Location: Orange County, CA
Server: Hyjal
Community ftw!

I was kinda scratchin' my head at this problem too. Although, with the limited box space I know that if I fill it up before finishing my first paragraph that I need to edit out some of the fluff in my speech.

_________________
Tangentially Useful: [relegated to a wordpress design sandbox]
Knights That Say Ni: RIP


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:39 am
Posts: 315
Location: Ner'Zhul, BC, Canada
I'm running a 1680 x 1050. Loooots of real estate to work with. =)

_________________
Matticus
"Power Through Knowledge and Reason"
http://www.worldofmatticus.com/
WoW Priest and Officer Blogger

Find me on GMail: matttz@gmail.com

Image


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:59 am
Posts: 63
Location: BNE/.au
Server: US-Proudmoore
Matt - if you're using your MacBook to post, and assuming you're running the latest Safari (or the old beta of it), you can enlarge any text entry field with a click and drag anyway.

_________________
http://www.bananashoulders.com - Banana Shoulders: a paladin, current events and theorycrafting blog.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:17 am
Posts: 10
Location: Orlando, FL
I also do not use the visual editor. And I have a solution for you. :>

Go under Option > Writing. The first option should be:
"Size of the post box: [ ] lines"

I have mine set to 50, which is a little too tall but I keep forgetting to fix it.

[Edit] Ack! Phaelia beat me to it. How did I miss her reply?

_________________
Petopia: A visual guide to hunter pets in the World of Warcraft.
Warcraft Mounts: A visual database of mounts in the World of Warcraft.
Mania's Arcania: A WoW hunter pet blog.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:33 am
Posts: 28
Location: Eastern USA
An additional note. If you increase the canvas size by dragging it while in WYSIWYG mode (Visual), switching to Code will retain the new size.

~Salad

_________________
» Omen of Clarity «


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
mergenine: WoW Alliance BB3
World of Warcraft ® ©2004-2007 Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. All rights reserved.